A1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

This committee provides advice on, and investigates allegations of violations of, policies and procedures concerning tenure, promotion, annual, post-tenure, and mid-probationary faculty evaluations as well as the exercise of academic freedom in teaching, scholarship and expression.​

Function: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost, the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

Composition: Seven (7) tenured faculty members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment. Ideally, all members should be tenured full professors. Sometimes, however, insufficient numbers are available. In those instances, it is preferable to have associate professors than vacancies.


Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report

2023-2024 Membership

2023-24 Chair
James Galbraith, Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs

Chair Elect


James Galbraith, Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs
Rowland Atiase, Professor, Accounding (replacing former member fall 2023)


Stephen Vladeck, Professor, School of Law
Brian Evans, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Hina Azam, Associate Professor, Middle Eastern Studies
Lorraine Pangle, Professor, Government
Jessica Toste, Associate Professor, Special Education (replacing former member spring 2024)

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Lisa Moore, Professor, English
Jessica Toste, Associate Professor, Special Education