A4 Faculty Grievance Committee

FUNCTION: The Faculty Grievance Committee is authorized to consider and hear or otherwise dispose of individual grievances. Faculty grievance procedures are set forth in HOP 2-2310 of the UT Austin Handbook of Operating Procedures.

COMPOSITION: Twenty (20) voting members of the General Faculty, for three (3) year staggered terms. Ten (10) members elected at-large by the General Faculty and ten (10) members appointed by the president through the regular procedures of the Committee on Committees. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. The total committee membership shall include no more than five (5) faculty members from any college or school. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The past chair shall serve as an ex officio, voting member of the committee. All members of the committee shall have tenure and, if possible, hold the rank of professor.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report


Sept. 18, 1 - 2 (via Zoom)

2023-2024 Membership

2023-24 Committee Chair
Janice Fischer, Professor, Molecular Biosciences

Chair Elect
Johann Hans Hofmann, Professor, Integrative Biology


Keith Brown, Professor, Finance * 
Minou Arjomand, Associate Professor, English (replaced former member spring 2024) ** 
Janice Fischer, Professor, Molecular Biosciences * 
Steve Goode, Professor, Law * 
Karen Johnson, Associate Professor, School of Nursing ** 
Martha Menchaca, Professor, Anthropology * 
Gretchen Murphy, Professor, English **


Noël Busch-Armendariz, Professor, School of Social Work ** 
Yolanda Padilla, Professor, Social Work * 
Sergio Romero, replacing former member, fall 2023 * 
Johann Hans Hofmann, Professor, Integrative Biology * 
Joshua Gunn, Professor, Communication Studies ** 
Jonathan Chen, Professor, Textiles and Apparel **


Caroline Bartel, Professor, Management *   
Zenzi Griffin, Professor, Psychology **   
Linda Mullenix, Professor, School of Law **   
Harvey Lederman, Professor, Philosophy *    
Audrey Stone, Associate Professor, Kinesiology and Health Education **   
Bo Xie, Professor, School of Nursing * 
Jung Kwak, Associate Professor, School of Nursing **  

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Jennifer Ebbeler, Associate Professor, Classics
Timothy Werner, Associate Professor, Business, Government and Society


* Members elected by the General Faculty.
** Members appointed by the President from nominees submitted by the Committee on Committees.