A5 Faculty Welfare Committee

FUNCTION: To consider and propose modifications to University policies that would improve faculty welfare; to study all proposed legislation concerning faculty welfare and submit recommendations to the Faculty Council.

COMPOSITION: Seven (7) voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms, including a faculty member from the School of Law. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. In addition, this committee shall appoint a member to serve ex-officio with vote on both the Gender Equity Council and on the Wellness Network Executive Board.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report

2023-2024 Membership

2023-24 Committee Chair
Tahir Mian, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Dell Medical School

Chair Elect


Joe H. Cutbirth, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Communication Studies
Lee Ann Kahlor, Professor, School of Advertising and Public Relations (replaced former member in fall 2022)


John Digiovanni, Professor, Pharmacy
Tahir Mian, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine
Daniel Stromberg, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics


Julija Šukys, Associate Professor, English

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Patricia Garcia, Associate Professor of Instruction, English
Andrea Gore, Professor, College of Pharmacy

Guest Members (2023-2024)

Susan Harnden, Liaison for Employee Assistance Program

Latest from UTNews