A6 General Faculty Rules and Governance Committee

FUNCTION: To consider and propose changes in the rules of procedure and governance structure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council and changes to the voting rights of the General Faculty; to study all proposed changes in and additions to the rules of procedure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council; and to submit recommendations to the Faculty Council. If the recommendations concern the Faculty Council, the committee will report also to the president, as the head of the General Faculty. In addition, this committee's function is to make the final ruling in any election dispute or on any election matter not covered by the rules; to handle questions of interpretation of rules; and to determine questions of jurisdiction arising between the Faculty Council and the General Faculty.

COMPOSITION: Three (3) members elected at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty, for three (3) year staggered terms. The secretary of the General Faculty and the chair of the Faculty Council shall serve as ex officio members with vote, and each year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report

2023-2024 Membership

Committee Chair
Domino Perez, Associate Professor, English

Chair Elect
Jen Moon, Professor of Instruction, Biology Instruction Office


Jonathan Yan Chen, Professor, Division of Textiles and Apparel


Brian Evans, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Stephanie Holmsten, Associate Professor of Instruction, Government

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Philip Schnarrs, Associate Professor of Population Health, Department of Population Health
Gautami Shah, Associate Professor of Instruction, Asian Studies

2023-2024 Ex-Officio Members with Vote

Charlotte Canning, 23-24 Secretary of the General Faculty and Professor, Theatre and Dance
Jen Moon, Chair Elect of the Faculty Council and Professor of Instruction, Natural Sciences

Latest from UTNews