A7 University of Texas Press Advisory Committee

FUNCTION: To consider and recommend on all proposed publications to bear the imprint of the Press; to advise and assist the director in forming policy for the Press; and to advise the president in the event it becomes necessary to seek and appoint a new director.

COMPOSITION: Eight (8) voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The director of the University of Texas Press shall serve as administrative advisor without vote.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report


First Meeting

Friday, September 22nd at 11:00 a.m (via Zoom)

2023-2024 Membership

Michael Ávila, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Theatre and Dance

Chair Elect
Casey Boyle, Associate Professor, Rhetoric and Writing


Michael  Ávila, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Theatre and Dance
Andrew Riggsby, Professor, Classics


Luis Urrieta, Professor, Curriculum and Instruction
Sandro Sessarego, Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jacob Wegmann, Associate Professor, School of Architecture


Casey Boyle, Associate Professor, Rhetoric and Writing
George Flaherty, Associate Professor, Art and Art History
Matthew McGlone, Professor, Communication Studies

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Aaron O'Connell, Associate Professor, History
Stephen Vladeck, , Professor, School of Law

Administrative Adviser without vote


Robert P. Devens, Director, University of Texas Press

Adrienne Gilg, Administrative Associate, UT Press

Latest from UTNews