C10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

FUNCTION: To address issues relating to recruitment and retention of historically underrepresented students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on initiatives related to their recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four (4) voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms, one (1) departmental faculty minority liaison officer for a three (3) year term, and two (2) staff members (at least one (1) shall be an academic advisor or graduate coordinator) for two (2) year staggered terms. Three (3) students shall be appointed by the president from a panel of six (6) names submitted by Student Government and one from a panel of two (2) names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. The coordinator of the Sanger Learning Center and three (3) members of the administration shall be appointed by the president for one (1) year terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The senior vice provost for enrollment management, the vice president for diversity and community engagement, a representative from the African American Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association shall serve as ex officio members without votes.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited


October 27, 10-11, via Zoom

Annual Report

2023-2024 Membership

Shelly Rodriguez, Professor of Practice, UTeach-Natural Sciences

Chair Elect


Dev Niyogi, Professor, Geological Sciences
Shelly Rodriguez, Professor of Practice, UTeach-Natural Sciences


Norma Cantu (Departmental Liaison Officer), Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy
Amy Wright, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Human Dimensions of Organizations


Milica Cudina, Associate Professor of Practice, Mathematics

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Megan Hildebrandt, Associate Professor of Practice, Art and Art History 
Jordan Conwell, Assistant Professor, Sociology

Staff Members


Katye Howell, Learning Specialist IV - Science, UT High School


James Gunter, Graduate Program Administrator, Geography and the Environment

2023-2024 Coordinator of the Sanger Learning and Career Center with Vote

Ray Acuña-Luna, Director, Sanger Learning Center

Student Members


Isaiah James Mosley, Student Government Representative
Nikolas Parker, Student Government Representative
Luke Weber, Student Government Representative
Dominique Gallery, Graduate Student Assembly Representative

Administrative Advisers with Vote


Jeanette Herman, Assistant Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies
Tepera Holman, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Student Programs, Graduate School
Tiffany Tillis Lewis, Assistant Vice-President, Longhorn Center for Academic Excellence

Administrative Advisers without Vote


Tiffany Lewis, Representative for the Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement
Brian Dixon, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management
Cyndi Cox, African American Alumni Association Representative
Emmett Campos, Hispanic Alumni Association Representative

Guest Member


Leon L. Holland, The Precursor Representative