C11 Research Policy Committee

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters relating to the research mission of the University and the relationship between it and other aspects of the University's overall mission; to provide for wider dissemination of information concerning the research mission of the University, how that mission is being discharged, and how it might be enhanced.

COMPOSITION: Nine (9) voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms, one (1) school or college administrator (associate dean for Research) for a one (1) year term, and two (2) research staff members for two (2) year staggered terms. No more than two (2) faculty members of the committee shall be from a given college or school. One (1) undergraduate student appointed by the president from a panel of two (2) names submitted by the Senate of College Councils and two (2) graduate students appointed from a panel of four (4) names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. At least one (1) of the graduate student members of the committee shall be enrolled in one (1) of the Ph.D. programs of the Graduate School. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. Both the vice president for research and the dean of the Graduate School shall serve as administrative advisors to the committee without vote.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report


September 25, 11am - 12pm, via Zoom

2023-2024 Membership

Committee Chair
Mbemba Jabbi, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Psychiatry

Chair Elect


Zhengrong Cui, Professor, Pharmacy
Mbemba Jabbi, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Psychiatry
Jarrod A. Lewis-Peacock, Associate Professor, Psychology


Jennifer K Adair, Professor, Curriculum and Instruction
Andrew Ellington, Professor, Molecular Biosciences
Johann Hofmann, Professor, Integrative Biology


Indranil Bardhan, Professor, Information, Risk, and Operations Management
Lisa Griffin, Associate Professor, Kinesiology and Health Education
Kathrynn Pounders, Associate Professor, School of Advertising and Public Relations

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Joel Adler, Assistant Professor of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Surgery of Perioperative Care
Suzannah Creech, Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Psychiatry

College or School Administrator with vote


Andreas Matouscheck, Associate Dean for Research, College of Natural Sciences

Staff Members


Michelle Osuna, Senior Research Program Coordinator, Department of Medicine


George Perez, Staff Representative

Student Members


Meg Donahue, Graduate Student Assembly Representative
Jonathan Espinoza, Graduate Student Assembly Representative
TBD, Senate of College Councils Representative

Administrative Advisers without Vote


Marvin L. Hackert, Associate Dean, Graduate School Representative
Mary A. Steinhardt, Associate Vice President For Research