C12 Responsibilities, Rights, and Welfare of Graduate Student Academic Employees Committee

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters pertaining to the responsibilities, rights, and welfare of graduate student academic employees.

COMPOSITION: Five (5) voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms; one (1) staff graduate coordinator for a two (2) year term; and one (1) teaching assistant, one (1) assistant instructor, and one (1) graduate research assistant. Student members shall be appointed by the president from a panel of names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The chair of the Graduate Assembly shall appoint one (1) member of the Graduate Assembly for a one (1) year term as an ex officio voting member of the committee. One (1) representative from the Graduate School shall serve as an ex officio non-voting administrative advisor.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited



Annual Report

2023-2024 Membership

Michelle Habeck, Associate Professor, Theatre and Dance

Chair Elect


Kelley A. Crews, Associate Professor, Geography and the Environment
Sonia Paban, Associate Professor, Physics


Michelle Habeck, Associate Professor, Theatre and Dance


Monike Garabieta, Clinical Assistant Professor, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Sarfraz Khurshid, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Josh M Cisler, Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Psychiatry
Tracie Matysik, Associate Professor, History

Staff Members


Alicia Zapata, Graduate Program Administrator

Student Members


Yiqiu (Echo) Yan, Graduate Student Assembly representative
Ashley Garcia, Graduate Student Assembly representative
TBD, Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisers


Naomi Lindstrom, Graduate Assembly Representative (with vote)
James H. Cox, Graduate Studies Representative (without vote)