C3 Undergraduate Curriculum Changes Committee

C-3 Orientation Packet (contains internal procedures, policies, and practices)

FUNCTION: To review proposals from colleges, schools, and units for changes to the undergraduate curriculum; to consider issues of educational quality of undergraduate degree programs and the implications of degree changes on other programs, course demand, graduation rates, and related issues; and to recommend action to the Faculty Council on such proposals. The committee shall determine which curriculum change proposals will route to the Faculty Council for legislation and which proposals will route directly to the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost. The secretary of the Faculty Council, as delegated by the executive vice president and provost, may approve and sign undergraduate curricular changes deemed non-substantive. The executive vice president and provost shall continue to review and approve substantive undergraduate curricular changes, including (1) creating or deleting a transcript-recognized degree, minor, or certificate; (2) changing an existing degree, minor, or certificate in a manner that requires UTS/THECB approval; (3) adding or deleting a track, concentration, or option within a major; and, (4) making any other substantive change requiring UTS/THECB approval (e.g., change in required SCHs, degree title, etc.). The committee will maintain a point-of-contact list for each college, school, or unit. Proposal questions and concerns will be routed to the relevant college, school, or unit’s point of contact. The committee shall make an annual written report of its work to the General Faculty and Faculty Council.

COMPOSITION: The Faculty Council Chair Elect will serve as the chair of the committee. The Educational Policy Committee (EPC) will designate a voting member to sit on the committee as Vice Chair. Seven voting members of the General Faculty, one from each of the following college curriculum committees, will serve three-year staggered terms:

  1. Cockrell School of Engineering
  2. College of Fine Arts
  3. College of Liberal Arts
  4. College of Natural Sciences
  5. McCombs School of Business
  6. Moody College of Communication
  7. School of Undergraduate Studies

Three voting members of the General Faculty selected from among the smaller colleges/schools will serve three-year staggered terms:

  1. College of Education
  2. College of Pharmacy
  3. Jackson School of Geosciences
  4. School of Architecture
  5. School of Information
  6. School of Law
  7. School of Nursing
  8. School of Social Work

Deans of colleges/schools will send one or more names of faculty serving on the college/school curriculum committees to the Committee on Committees. In the event that a college/school curriculum committee does not exist, the Dean shall send names of faculty serving on departmental curriculum committees. The Committee on Committees will submit its faculty recommendations to the president for appointment. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms. Deans, Associate Deans, Assistant Deans, Department Chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The senior associate dean in Undergraduate Studies, a representative from the Office of the Registrar, and a representative from the Office of Strategic Academic Initiatives shall serve as administrative advisers without vote.

{Established in April 2019, D 17016-17018 }

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report



2023-2024 Membership

Committee Chair
Stella Flores, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy

Educational Policy Committee Representative
Jennifer Austin, Associate Professor of Instruction, Mathematics


Stella Flores, Faculty Council Chair Elect; Associate Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy


Carlos Caldas, Professor, Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
Tolga Ozyurtcu, Associate Professor of Instruction, Kinesiology and Health Education
Robert Prentice, Professor, Business, Government, and Society


Matt Fajkus, Associate Professor, School of Architecture
Lori Holleran, Professor, School of Undergraduate Studies
Edward C. Kirk, Professor, Anthropology
John Mihic, Associate Professor, Neuroscience


Diana Dawson, Assistant Professor of Instruction, School of Journalism and Media
John Turci-Escobar, Associate Professor of Instruction, School of Music
Daniella Rempe, Assistant Professor, Geological Sciences

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Ryan Gray, Assistant Professor, Nutritional Sciences
Zhigang Pan, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Administrative Advisers without Vote


Juan Dominguez, Vice Provost for Academic, Curricular and Career Innovation and Jeanette Herman, Assistant Vice Provost, Undergraduate College
Priscilla White, Assistant Registrar, Office of the Registrar 
Tiffany Willis, Assistant Director and Accreditation Manager, Strategic Academic Initiatives