C4 Educational Policy Committee

FUNCTION: To study and evaluate proposals on educational policy and possible alternatives and to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine (9) voting members of the General Faculty, appointed for three (3) year staggered terms. Three (3) students shall be appointed by the Senate of College Councils, and one (1) by the Graduate Student Assembly. The student members must be from different colleges and should attempt to achieve gender diversity. The student members should include at least one (1) professional student. The Graduate Student Assembly’s appointee shall be a graduate student who is or has served as an assistant instructor or teaching assistant at the University. One (1) staff member who is a member of the Academic Counselors’ Association. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee; if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The provost, the dean of Undergraduate Studies, the director of Testing and Evaluation Services, and the registrar shall serve as administrative advisors without votes. The Campus Academic Deans (consisting of the academic deans in each college or school) shall nominate a consultant without a vote.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited


September 29, 11 AM (via Zoom)

Annual Report

2023-2024 Membership

Committee Chair
David Taylor, Associate Professor, Molecular Biosciences

Chair Elect


Darla Castelli, Professor, Kinesiology and Health Education
Marci Gleason, Associate Professor, Human Development and Family Sciences
Julie Minich, Associate Professor, English


Jennifer Austin, Associate Professor of Instruction, Mathematics
Matthew S. Giani, Research Associate Professor, Sociology
David W. Taylor Jr, Associate Professor, Molecular Biosciences


Vertica Bhardwaj, Associate Professor of Instruction, Division of Textiles and Apparel
Laura Estep, Assistant Professor of Practice, Special Education (replacing former member, fall 2023)
Stephen Walls, Associate Professor of Instruction, Marketing (EPC liaison to the Undergraduate Studies Advisory Committee)

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Debra Hansen, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Biology Instruction Office
Niveen Abi Ghannam, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Student Members


Emma Cox, Senate of College Councils Representative
Haeeda Mubashar, Senate of College Councils Representative
Aashi Vishnoi, Senate of College Councils Representative
Gene Ferrier-Rainey, Graduate Student Assembly Representative

Academic Counselors Association Member

Renee E Babcock, Academic Advising Coordinator, Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics

Administrative Advisers without Vote


Thereisa Coleman, Director, Testing and Evaluation Services
Brenda Schumann, Interim Assistant Vice Provost for Enrollment Services and University Registrar
Art Markman, Vice Provost for Continuing and Professional Education and New Education Ventures, Provost's Representative
Richard Reddick, Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies
Danielle Alsandor, Deputy Director for Curriculum & Enrollment and Undergraduate Studies, Delegate for the Dean of the School of Undergraduate Studies

Consultants without Vote


W. Reneé Acosta, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Pharmacy, Campus Academic Deans Representative