C6 International Programs and Studies Committee

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and executive vice president and provost on policies and procedures pertinent to the development, implementation, and on the operation of international programs at the University and pedagogical and research programs involving overseas study and/or work with internationally-oriented agencies.

COMPOSITION: Five (5) voting members of the General Faculty for three (3) year staggered terms and two (2) students. At least one (1) faculty member of the committee shall be a member of a foreign language department. One (1) student member shall be appointed by the president from each of the panels of two (2) names submitted by Student Government and the Senate of College Councils. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two (2) voting faculty members of the Faculty Council for one (1) year terms. Each fall, the committee shall elect a chair elect who shall be a voting faculty member of the committee, though, if that proves impossible, it shall elect a vice chair as an interim measure, while continuing to seek a chair elect. Each committee shall make an annual report on its work, in writing, to the General Faculty and Faculty Council. The president shall appoint annually, as administrative advisors without vote, the senior vice provost for global engagement, the dean of the Graduate School, as well as one (1) person selected form the academic associate deans of the colleges and schools, one (1) person selected from among the directors of the University area studies centers, and a representative of the University administration in the area of international programs and related student services.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited

Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited

Annual Report


First meeting: November 7

2023-2024 Membership

Committee Chair
Jeannette Okur, Associate Professor of Instruction, Middle Eastern Studies

Chair Elect


Jeannette Okur, Associate Professor of Instruction, Middle Eastern Studies
Kevin J. Thomas, Professor, African and African Diaspora


Dhivya Arassappan, Assistant Professor of Practice, College of Natural Sciences
Lance Manuel, Professor, Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering


Syed Hyder, Associate Professor, Asian Studies

2023-2024 Faculty Council Representatives

Mohammad A. Mohammad, Associate Professor, Middle Eastern Studies
Stacey Sowards, Professor, Communication Studies

Student Members


Minh Phuong Hoang, Student Government Representative
TBD, Senate of College Councils Representative

Administrative Advisers without Vote


Douglas G. Biow, Director, Academic Program, French and Italian
Teri Albrecht, Delegate for the Senior Vice Provost for Global Engagement
Steven D. Hoelscher, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Liberal Arts
Marvin L. Hackert, Associate Dean, Graduate Studies Representative